Naveen, Niluka ride to bag honours….

Naveen Ruchira of Gampaha District emerged National Champion while champion rider and his teammate Jeewan Jayasinghe finished second ahead of third placed Wajira Pushpakumara of Anuradhapura when the National Cycling Championship was worked off in Anuradhapura on Saturday.

Niluka Shyamali of Kalutara District won the Women’s Elite race while Ayesha Madushani (Ratnapura) finished second. Madushani Ranasinghe (Anuradhapura) came in third. The Under-23 Men’s race saw Nidush Nirantha of Kurunegala reaching the finish line first, followed by Ashen Tharuka (Gampaha) who finished second.

His teammate Charith Fernando secured the third place. Pasindu Lakshan (Kalutara) won the Men’s Junior event while Madumali Fernando of Kurunegala won the women’s junior race.

The Masters (40-55 years) race was won by W S Jeewananda of Kalutara and G Thomas Perera won the over 55 race.

The men’s elite riders’ race was affected by rain in the last lap.

However the competitors did not give up and cycled amidst heavy rain and Naveen Ruchira sprinted ahead of the others at the last moment to become the winner.

Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara and minister Duminda Dissanayake flaged off the men’s elite race. Earlier on the same day, the Ministers participated in the “Cycling for all” event which was organized by the Cycling Federation of Sri Lanka to foster the mission of its international governing body UCI.

North Western Province Chief Minister Peshala Jayaratne, Minister for Rural Development P. Harrison, North Western Province Sports z_p28-Naveen also joined the ride which was worked off on a 14.67 km long circuit.


Men’s Elite:

1: Naveen Ruchira (Gampaha)

2:Jeewan Jayasinghe


3: B Wajira Pushpakumara (Anuradhapura)

Under 23 Men

1: Nidush Nirantha (Kurunegala) 2.09.50

2: Ashen Tharuka (Gampaha) 2.09.50

3: Charith Fernando (Gampaha) 2.09.50

Elite women

1: Niluka Shyamali (Kaluthara) 57.19.8

2: Ayesha Madushani (Rathnapura ) 57.19.8

3: H A D I Madushani Ranasnghe (Anuradhapura ) 57.19.8

Men’s Junior

1: Pasindu Lakshan (Kalutara) 1.06.50

2: Awishka Madosa (Kalutara) 1.06.50

3: Prabash Madhusanka (Gampaha) 1.06.50

Women’s Junior

1: Madumali Fernando (Kurunegala ) 37.47.0

2: W Sandunika Chandramali (Anuradhapura) 37.48.4

3: Udeshini Niranjana Kumarasinghe (Anuradhapura) 37.48.9

Master’s event ( 40-55 )

1: W S Jeewananda (Kalutara)

2: L A D Shelton (Kalutara)

3: M R Sarath Amarasinghe (Anuradhapura)

Masters’ event ( over 55 )

1: G Thomas Perera (Gampaha)

2: N C Kulathunge (Anuradhapura)

3: W Siwadasa (Kalutara)

2936 Total Views 1 Views Today

Categories: Cycling

Leave A Reply