Final stage commences 25 July – Milo Schools Netball


The final stage matches of the Schools Netball Championship for the MILO Trophy 2015 will start on 25, 26 and 27 July at Matale Bernard Aluvihare Grounds. The 24th edition of the MILO Trophy will feature over 400 teams from 120 schools participating in this tournament, and the preliminary round matches have already been concluded at 14 centres island-wide.
This was revealed by Sandamali Aviruppola, President of the SLSNA at a press briefing held at the Dutch Burger Union in Thummulla.
The tournament sponsored by Nestle Lanka Ltd for the 24th time will be conducted in two divisions A and B in age groups of under-14, 16 and 18 and under-13.
The main objective of the SLSNA is to improve the standard of the game and encourage outstation schools to participate. The added feature this year is that there is an increased participation of schools from the northern and eastern districts.
At the press conference held at Dutch Burger Union on Thursday, the head of Sri Lanka School Netball Association, Sandamali Aviruppola said: “I think every team that participates in the competition should have a fair chance of winning it.”
The players born in 2003 and 2004 are eligible to take part in the under-13 category, while players born in 2002 will be in the under-14 category. The students born in 2000 and 2001 will be entitled to play in the age group of under-16. The most senior age group, the under-18, will be for players born in 1998 and 1999, she said.
Last year, Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala dominated the tournament winning both the under-14 and under-16 age groups for the sixth consecutive year, while finishing third in the under-18 category.

2197 Total Views 1 Views Today

Leave A Reply